CD Rates

Minimum Opening Deposit 1,000.00
Term 12 months
Interest Rate 0.50%
Annual Percentage Yield 0.50%
Annual Percentage Yield is effective as of May 6, 2015.
Rates are subject to change. A penalty may be imposed for early withdrawal.

Dr. Joe Turner and Chris Cutts Receive Awards

South Georgia Banking Company is proud to be an active member of the Tifton / Tift County Chamber of Commerce.  We are even more proud to have such valuable community members on our team who were recently recognized by the Chamber for their outstanding achievements.  

Pictured are Dr. Joe Turner and Chris Cutts.  Dr. Turner, Board Member at South Georgia Banking Company, was recently awarded the Stafford Award for his substantial contributions in local economic development.  Cutts, a lender at South Georgia Banking Company, was awarded the Lamar Branch award which is given annually to a rookie Chamber of Commerce member who best exhibits Mr. Branch’s outstanding style of leadership.


2015 Hester Memorial Scholarship Local Winner Announced

Rachel Lord of Ashburn, Georgia, is the 2015 local winner of the $500 Julian & Jan Hester Memorial Scholarship from South Georgia Banking Company. Lord, who was chosen after careful consideration by a regional panel of judges, will go on to compete for one of the four Hester Memorial $1,000 scholarships chosen by the Community Bankers Association (CBA) in May.

The Julian & Jan Hester Memorial Scholarship program awards $1,000 annually to four deserving high school seniors who plan to attend a Georgia college/university/technical school beginning the Fall semester after graduation, along with local scholarship recipients. Local winner Rachel Lord has an impressive background of academic achievements, community involvement and is currently a senior at Turner County High School. As valedictorian of her class, Lord is also a dual-enrollment student at ABAC and plans to pursue a public relations degree as she continues her education at ABAC in the fall.

Erin Asbury of Tifton, the local runner up, will also be considered for the $1,000 scholarship award. Asbury, a student at Tiftarea Academy, has a remarkable reputation with outstanding academic and community accomplishments. She is joint enrolled at ABAC and Brewton-Parker colleges and plans to attend Georgia Tech in the fall.

The Julian & Jan Hester Memorial Scholarship is named after long-time CBA Chief Executive Officer, the late Julian Hester and his late daughter, Jan Hester. Jan was a senior at the University of Georgia when she died in an auto accident in April of 1990. In addition to supporting community banking, this scholarship is an opportunity to pass on the positive qualities both Julian and Jan Hester exemplified to further the development of tomorrow’s generations.

Join South Georgia Banking Company in congratulating both of these outstanding students and wishing them luck in the final round of this scholarship competition.

Banking Services

Internet Banking

Small Business is Big!

Experience our better online banking for yourself! Click a link below to learn more.

Features include payroll direct deposit, internet banking, and night depository services.

Mortgage Information

Bank-Owned Properties

Our mortgage specialists navigate customers through the loan process step-by-step.

Check out our bank-owned properties including residential, commercial, investment and land.

Electronic Deposit Insurance Estimator

Use the FDIC's Electronic Deposit Insurance Estimator (EDIE) tool to find out what deposits are insured and what portion (if any) exceeds coverage limits.